top of page

Monk Island

Walk With Me

By Carla Day

Machynys . (Monk Island)

My first walk is close by, a local walk I was not too long ago complaining was boring and familiar, as I walk the route so often but as it was close, I thought I’d give it another go and completely surprised myself. There was a much-welcome break in a four-day down-pour and a slither of winter sunshine made me jump in the car and speed toward the beach before the heavens opened again. I did my usual thing and stopped to get a take away coffee for the first leg of the journey. I only do this on short, local walks, I usually pack a flask of coffee and have even been known to take my granddads hip flask with a winter warmer in, on longer walks, just in case.

Machynys Bay is the perfect first walk. The starting point of the route I’m taking is accessible from Llanelli on the A484 (The Pentre Nicklaus turn off) and is a small part of the 14 kilometre, Millennium Coastal Path. The Bury Inlet or Estuary, also known as the Loughor Estuary, lends the most entertaining views on this idealic 45 minute stroll.

I’ve taken many photographs here because the quality of light is really beautiful. It’s an ideal spot to stretch your legs, a dog walker’s paradise. It also has a special place in my heart, as I penned my memoir there, on a weather-beaten log. I spent many mornings both sunny and frosty, with a coffee in hand, scribbling out my thoughts while staring across the silvery water.

Lilly - my sprightly Jack Russell - was very happy to be coming along and wagged her tail all the way there. She was no-doubt looking forward to sniffing stuff that had washed up on the shore-line. Bizarrely it’s her favourite pastime, that and peeing on tufts of grass and for some reason, disguarded crisp packets. When we arrived at the small but FREE car park, a rare treat, I noticed lots of other dog-walkers had crept out of the woodwork, eager to have their share of vitamin D before the grey skies returned.

Lilly’s tail spun in anticipation as we spilled out of the car and set off. I prefer quiet days when there aren’t so many people about, I’m not as sociable as Lilly, who likes to stop and hi to every dog and its owner, especially if she sniffs out a pocket with treats in.

As we walked along the first stretch of wide, gravelled path, I turned to look behind me and the sky was that perfect summer-blue with sparse, perfect white clouds sifting over the seaside houses, yet ahead, a dark grey ensemble was forming and I feared yet more rain. I decided not to look back again and focus on what was happening ahead.

To my right, as I headed toward the Golf Course, the Estuary had been gobbled up by the Bury River and left only snakes of silver and circular tufts of sea grass. Water fowl were out in their droves, pecking at the sand in search of sandworms and other delights and grey clouds started to shift as a mild wind blew in. The sun came from behind me and lit a path in front of us and the walk suddenly became very enjoyable.

It’s not a long walk, so I wanted to take my time and focus on what was happening around me. As I passed one of the Millennium posts - which always remind me of Sarons tower in Lord of the Rings - Machynys Golf Course came into view on my left, and to the right, beyond the estuary, were a patchwork of arced hills and clusters of houses with the sun shining on their glass making them twinkle.

Still on the track, I carried on, thinking about how sad I was that a book I was writing had recently come to an end. I always mourn them a little because the writing becomes a part of your world for a while. For me at least – writing is an addiction, I know it will take time to immerse myself in something new. Combining walking with writing might just fill that void and as these hobbies are also my two passions, it should be a breeze.

I came to an oblong mound-of-grass, sat upon a framework of stone foundations, on top were four stone, semi-circular seats – the perfect place for a coffee stop or to take in the magnetic views. I’m not sure what their history is, I must find out. I’ve sat there many times watching nature play out and never thought about what they are. Turns out they were put there for walkers to sit and enjoy the views when the millennium path was being developed.

Beyond the mound, we dropped into marshlands awash with thorny gorse bushes and resilient yellow flowers. As the tide was out, networks of deep muddy trenches weaved their way through the marshes and a flurry of wildlife enjoyed whatever treasures were left. I looped around the area, passing another ruin, a stone building and then back onto a straight, muddy path heading towards The bird centre, although I don’t have time to go that far today.

I turned back on myself at an ornate-metal-bridge which led to a pretty lake, abundant with waterfowl and long reeds. The sun was out and illuminated the water turning it from murky green to a glittery, steel blue.

A gentle breeze pushed through the tall grasses at the side of the path and they shimmered like a field of silver feathers as I ambled by the lake and back onto the same gravelled path. This time, I dipped down onto the beaches and stayed on them all the way back to the car. I like to scramble around on the defence boulders and hop around like a kid. Lilly loves it too. This is an easy walk, flat, with panoramic views of The Gower Peninsular and a variety of wildlife to look at.

A forty-five minute slice of heaven. Read more about it here: http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/machynys.html

bottom of page